You are here


USSDo you know someone who goes above and beyond? Do you have a great case history that deserves recognition?

Nominate a winner today! Nominations are now closed for the 2017 NRF PROTECT Awards, the highest loss prevention and asset protection recognitions in the retail industry. Help us celebrate our successes and recognized the hard work and talent within our ranks. Submit your nomination to acknowledge LP professionals and law enforcement officers who have make an impact on the community and the retail industry.


Ring of Excellence Award

The Ring of Excellence Award recognizes pioneers in the retail loss prevention and asset protection community whose honor, integrity and character serve as an example for the LP profession. The achievements and outstanding leadership of these honorees have shaped the industry by creating new LP standard practices and building strong LP and retail security teams. Inductees to the Ring of Excellence can be honored in person or posthumously and have included vice presidents and chief security officers of retail companies.

Click for the Ring of Excellence Nomination Form


Past Ring of Excellence honorees have included:
Joseph LaRocca, founder of the Los Angeles-based RetaiLPartners LP consulting firm, in recognition of his more than 20 years of experience in retail loss prevention
Richard Mellor (retired), honored for 40 years in asset protection with retailers such as Helzberg Diamonds, Bon-Ton, John Wanamaker and others
Dan Doyle, senior vice president and chief human resources officer, Beall’s Department Stores
George Luciano (retired), honored for his more than 30 years of retail loss prevention service
No inductee
Josh Hegan (deceased), honored for achievements during his 45-year loss prevention career at R.H. Macy & Company



Loss Prevention Case of the Year

The NRF Loss Prevention Case of the Year Award recognizes a retail loss prevention or asset protection professional whose investigation has made a positive impact to help protect their company, the community, and industry.

Click for the LP Case of the Year Nomination Form

Past LP Case of the Year honorees:
Glenn Justus, Senior Corporate Investigator, Barnes & Noble, Inc.
Christian Placencia, Market Investigator, JC Penney
Barry Vaughn, Area Investigator, Old Navy
Dan Ensing and Denis Tarabrin, ORC Investigators, Dominick’s Finer Foods
Adam Brezette and John Morris, Managers, Organized Retail Crime, Macy’s
Shane Coover and Raphael Villanes,Sr. Investigators, Safeway, Inc. and Mike Serio,Investigations Team Leader, Target Corporation
James Carson and Michael Chapman, Director and VP, Operations & Security, Tourneau LLC
Kausha Bass and John Gay, Distribution Center, LP Managers, GameStop
Ron Averette, Loss Prevention Manager, Publix Super Markets, Inc.
Richard Cubbage, Loss Prevention Analyst, Army & Air Force Exchange Service



Law Enforcement Retail Partnership Award

The NRF Law Enforcement Retail Partnership Award (LERPA) acknowledges law enforcement officers or agencies who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to support the retail industry in protecting assets and reducing losses.

Click for the LERPA Nomination Form

Congratulations to the 2016 winners: Lori Allsteadt, Detective, Barrington Police Department (IL) and Jamie Portell, Inspector, United States Postal Inspection Services.

Previous LERPA winners have included individuals from police or sheriff’s departments in Los Angeles, Chicago, St. Paul, MN, the Cook County State's Attorney’s Office, and federal agencies including the Department of Justice, Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and the U.S. Secret Service.

Fusion Center